My Juicing Journey

Very Nearly V-8

Just finished a case study on reticular memory and consumer behavior for my MBA.  Don’t ask…yes I really am that much of an egg-head.

But I am washing it all down with one of my new favorite drinks, and I thought I would share my recipe.

  • 4 carrots
  • 4 celery stalks
  • 1 bunch of kale
  • 1 large handful of spinach
  • 1/2 cucumber
  • 2-3 tomatoes depending on size
  • 1 small to medium beet
  • 1 – 1/2 bell or red pepper
  • onion POWDER
  • garlic POWDER
  • S&P to taste
  • Texas Pete (optional)

 

After months of experimenting with different recipes and checking out other sites I finally found the combination that yields something that is as close as I can get to the store-bought counterpart.  I love V-8 but, mercy! have you seen all that they put in it that has nothing to do with health or vitality?  The sodium is off the charts.

Beyond that, and what has made this the “golden chalice” for juicers is that it is darn near impossible to recreate it in a home kitchen, much less in a “raw food” environment. Here’s why.  I have learned that in order to provide stability and shelf life, they pasteurize their version.  In short, they cook it.

When they do, it kills all of the beneficial bacteria and cook out many of the nutrients. I’m not bashing them, I understand why they do it and it has made a generation of people that whack their forehead and exclaim “Wow! I could have had a V-8!” I just prefer to get all of my nutrients if I can. They also add tomato puree and tomato paste which if you are truly juicing will not be an option for you.

The missing ingredient in my search was the beet. It not only provides added texture and body but it turns the flavor profile in the right direction.  the difficulty was getting the balance right.  Too much beet and you have problems with texture and palatability and digestive issues.  too little and you end up with something that more closely resembles cold veg broth than a hearty swig of V-8.

I will explain why in my next blog post today, but add onion and garlic in their powdered form. Do not juice them.  Oh, you can if you want to, but you will thank me if you don’t.

One last note, the S&P is only to taste, you likely will enjoy it with both.  the salt is really kinda necessary but use celtic sea or himilayan salt for this.  Also, the Texas Pete, is for those who like a spicy kick.

Try this out and let me know what you think.

Juice On; Join the Journey.

This entry was published on March 16, 2012 at 3:47 pm. It’s filed under Food Tips, Juicing, Recipe, Vegetables, weight loss and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Very Nearly V-8

  1. Sounds pretty delicious! I’ll give it a try!

  2. Yummy! My favorite is celery,tomato,red pepper,cilantro, lemon, and a dash or two of chipotle hot sauce! deeelish!

  3. Karen on said:

    After the first time I tried this, I have been making it often. I love it! I am really loving juicing and have whipped up all kinds of concoctions. There has been nothing at all that doesn’t taste good. Congrats on your weight lost. I have been at it a few weeks now and have lost some weight already. Most of all, I am feeling so much better. I’m really leaning toward becoming vegan.

Comments are closed.

