My Juicing Journey

Day 50: Or Would You Rather be a Mule?

Status, Day 50: SW: 470 TW: 387.4 TWL: 82.6 lbs Lbs to Goal: 162.4

The title of today’s blog is a line from one of my favorite songs, “Swinging on a Star” from the late Bing Crosby.  As the song goes, “A mule is an animal…it’s back is brawny and it’s mind is weak, it’s just plain stupid with a stubborn streak….or would you rather swing on a star” 

It is a great song from a fun, classic movie “Going My Way”.

If you are dealing with a plateau, you have two choices: to stubbornly stick to the way things have been;  to fall back on the old way and listen to the old voices saying things like, “I’ve never been able to lose weight,” or “I guess it’s just genetic,” or “Well, what they say is true, once you get past forty you just can’t lose weight.”  The excuses are plenty, they even have the hint of science and rationale to go with them. Or you can trudge on, trust the system and belive for a breakthrough.

Over the past two weeks, I have thought about throwing in the towel several times. Thinking that this had run its course and I needed to change things. Or that this just wasn’t the path for me.  But I didn’t.  You see, deep down inside I did want to “Swing on a Star”. 

I can’t do both.  I can’t swing and go around braying like a donkey; they are mutually exclusive activities. So, I’ll choose to swing and for today, now that the plateau is appaantly broken, I will go through whistling this tune on my juicing journey.

 

Wherever you are on this journey, whether you are just starting out, you started but ended up at a detour, you have run your race and are doing a victory lap, or you are facing your own challenge along the way. You can do this. “You can be better than you are, You could be swinging on a star!”

Juice On; Join the Journey!

This entry was published on March 1, 2012 at 10:01 am. It’s filed under Food Psychology, Juicing, Vegetables, weight loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Day 50: Or Would You Rather be a Mule?

  1. lethalastronaut on said:

    Everyone has plateaus. I’m sitting here, writing this, reading your blog, and just *knowing* that mine is lurking around the corner, waiting to bite me in the butt at any second, and slow me down.

    Think of the plateau as your body’s “taking time to breathe” before its next battle. This is the deep breath before you head out underwater again, into the salt and the surf and the waves. Take time to breathe, and reflect on all you have achieved, and all you will achieve.

    Be at peace. The plateau won’t last long. You’ll soon be on your way forwards again. And while your rest, take a brief time to look back on where you were, a few short weeks ago! You can do this!

  2. I am daily encouraged by your transparency and willingness to share in this journey but even more delighted that you have not given up but continue to press on.
    But those who hope in the Lord will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not grow faint! Keep it up! It’s a joy to see you achieve your goals.

Comments are closed.

