My Juicing Journey

If you can do any thing else do it…

Not the most encouraging way to start a blog post is it? But as I have found out this week…it is the truth.

Now to be fair, I did fall (or did I jump 🙂 ) earlier this week, but even b4 that I was stumblin and sputterin. I reached my short term goal a day early, who knows maybe that sense of accomplishment took the wind out of my sails. Or, maybe it was just 5 weeks is a long time.  Who knows but this week has been a doozy.

I am not quitting, and I am not saying it hasn’t been worth it, it has. Lord, has it ever. I feel better than I have in years. But I am just exhausted.  Clients have kept me bust, school makes me feel like I’ve bitten off more than I can chew, kids, family, constantly thinking about every bite of food (or drink as the case may be) constantly battling temptations and crqavings , slogging thru the psychology behind all of this, and figuring out my new identity while dealing with my past one; it all has taken a toll on me mentally.

It feels like those middle miles of a marathon or the duldrums of sailing lore. I know they will pass, the weight loss will return, and so will the spark and motivation. Till then its just quiet; quiet and hard. Where are you, second wind?!

Those of you so inclined, pray. I know “its not by might, nor by power but by my spirit says the Lord”

I know that in my heart but need to feel it in my spirit, mind, and body. I have taken a three day respite with my bride and escaped to the mountains.

I think we both needed to recharge.  I am taking the thre days off from exclusively juicing. But not from the reboot. I am just going back to the eating and juicing of the entry phase. Still all fruit and veg, but some solid food in the evening and a salad at midday or fresh fruit for breakfast; that sort of thing.

I had to do something to deal with the cravings, and to try to reset my system and to refocus my efforts (and hopefully kickstart my weightloss again). Perhaps at 396 pounds (boy that’s nice to say) I have been consuming too few calories for too long.  Maybe I’m graspimg at straws but the cravings have returned as bad or worse than days 7-10.

Is any of you have been on an extended juice fast is this normal?  I swear it took all the energy I had to not go get a super sized order of fries today. I didn’t and I have my juicer and spare bottles with me on my retreat.

The plan is to reset and refocus for the stretch run. I think I can hear the crowds as I approach the city limit signs I can do this, I can make this…it is a worthy goal and I will proceed.

Health is around the corner. Victory in sight. The same reasons I had for starting are still valid. I still have no other options. I can either fight to regain my health or I can die.  I Love life and I love MY life it is worth these temporary mild afflictions. My God has caled me to health, to fullness, and to abundant life. How can I not go on…restore my strength.

Juice On; Join the Journey.

This entry was published on February 18, 2012 at 12:45 am and is filed under Food Psychology, Juicing, Vegetables, weight loss. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “If you can do any thing else do it…

  1. Kay Sherwood on said:

    I hear feel your pain in this journey and I KNOW He will make that way for you to
    continue and regain your energy and strong resolve. I love you and am so
    very proud of you….AND Nikki.
    Hugs and prayers,
    Aunt Kay 🙂

  2. You are right..this is like mile 18 or so in a marathon…and that’s precisely it – a marathon! So, stay on the course…finish the race. Even if it means some stopping at “water stops”, refueling mentally and spiritually.
    I’ve been resisting and struggling lately and something God brought to mind today, is something Keith Harrell used to say, ” What is fear? False Evidence Appearing Real.” So, what’s the truth? With God’s strength you can reboot and reclaim your health!! The false evidence is just that …false evidence. Focus on how far you’ve come not how far to go!! Count the successes, reread your blog if you can’t remember the successes!!! – focus on those and focus on God to help….

  3. It’s always too soon to give up on an issue so important to yur well being.. Proud of you for your resolve. Hang in there. Better days are just ahead. All our love.

  4. I am glad you are on a little retreat. It is good for you both.
    “keep on the sunny side, always on the sunny side of life”He will brighten every day, He will help all the way if you keep on the sunny side of life.” We love you and so proud of your goals. You are an inspiration to all, especially me when I want to cook a pecan pie.
    I know I can resist that if you do what you are doing. The pecans
    are so good and we needed yo so badly to day when Mark, Dad and
    I were trying to pick them up. So far over a 100 lbs. Lots of pies!!!
    /But I am not cooking them.

  5. so wise of you and your wife to get away for a few days. you are certainly not alone in this,, I have stalled big time and quite honestly a few day “break” from juicing is a great way to re charge. For me the issue of all of this has been my lack of discipline not just in eating but in other areas of my life, it’s a purge of all those habits and quite honestly it is tiring. I will continue to pray for you and your family. my life verse is proverbs 3: 5-6 trust in the Lord with your whole heart, lean not unto your own understanding, acknowledge HIM in everything and HE will direct your path…when I am feeling like I am over analyzing the reasons I am on this juicing journey I find this helps me say just forget about it and trust God for leading me here in the first place!
    The Lord bless and keep you..
    j

  6. Carolyn R. on said:

    sorry, just seeing this. You hang in the lil bro in law! Praying for you!!

Comments are closed.

