My Juicing Journey

Reflections on 70

At my house, anytime there is a significant milestone such as a birthday, Thanksgiving, anniversary, end of a school year, start of a school year, etc.  I always torture my family with questions like…”So what was your favorite moment of the past year.” 

Up until they were in their mid-teens I used to play a game with my kids that we called “Hi-Low”.  At the end of the day each of us would take turns sharing what our high point and our low point of the day was. 

On the day I am mentally celebrating having lost 70 lbs, it can be a challenge when you don’t “see it” in the mirror.  Let’s face it, though,  70 lbs is barely a drop in the bucket, only about 17% or so of my total body weight and less than a third of the way to go. It is easy to get disheartened when you don’t “see” the loss, especially after losing that much.

So, with that in mind, and to keep me focusd on the what I have attained, I thought I would reflect on the top 10 “little things” I have experinced since losing 70 lbs in 34 days.

  • 10. I had to cinch up my shoes.
  • 9. The dry patches on my face have completely cleared up.
  • 8. The edema in my right leg is all but gone, and my left leg is improving.
  • 7. People that I run into are commenting on how great my color looks.  Ha, I never knew I had bad color before…who knew???
  • 6. My eyes are whiter and clearer
  • 5. Yesterday at church a friend commented that I “Just look different”.  They explained that I seem happier, more upbeat and optimistic. Again, not sure I understand that one, I always thought I was a fairly upbeat fella…some changes you don’t even notice.
  • 4. I am getting to reach into the back of my closet to find clothes to wear.  It is kinda like getting to go shopping or getting a new wardrobe without having to spend money.  This nourishes the cheapskate in me as well as the person who is striving for lower weight and higher health. (after I’m done harvesting the back of my closet, I have a whole box of 2x and 3x clothes up in the attic…some of my favorites… incluidng a hawaiin print polo shirt that I got in Hawaii.
  • 3. The other night, I fell asleep without my apnea mask on.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I did wake up and I am not claiming I’m cured, but previously even this much would have been unthinkable.
  • 2. I am breathing easier throughout the day and have so much more energy.
  • 1. I had something roughly akin to a calous at my waistline from the constant pressure of my waistband agianst my gut and a perpetual rash/eczyma/yeast infection, from skin-on-skin contact, from my belly button to about mid thigh.  The calous is softening dramatically and the rash is all but gone.

This is just the beginning.  I still have much to achieve, more goals to attain and more barriers to break through.  I will bask in this momentarily, then, remind myself that this is “A” goal but not “THE” goal.  I am only halfway through the juice fast and only 5 weeks into a lifetime journey.  My next goal is to try to reach 100 lbs total weight loss before the juicing phase is done (40 more days), then 350 lbs, then start training for the Pigeon Forge 8k.  I may only walk it, but I will finish it.  We’ll see after that. Other milestones will come to mind on my way down to 225.

What are your goals, what are your milestones.  Remember to set them, if you need a refresher then check out an early post.

Let me know your goals and your rewards as together we keep on this journey.  Don’t forget to join us on facebook at www.facebook.com/myjuicingjourney and “like” us there. We are discussing options for our pulp this week, plus I have some great recipes that I will be posting.  And, if you like the blog, be sure to follow me so you don’t miss a post.

In the meantime, keep telling your friends and family about all we are doing here and have them check us out.  Till next time, Juice On; Join the Journey.

This entry was published on February 13, 2012 at 4:51 pm. It’s filed under Juicing, weight loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Reflections on 70

  1. Congratulations:) 🙂 🙂 🙂 It is def. a mile stone:)

  2. Again, such a wonderful victory for you and I just cant help the big smile on my face, it’s such wonderful news. And the results, wow!!
    I am not on facebook but if I was I would sure “like” you for sure but in the meantime I LOVE coming here and daily being encouraged.
    Julia

  3. Exciting! Hang in there. On an aside, it seems to me your doctor would be interested in your daily posts. They point out markers along the way that are meidcally significicant. You should definitely save them as encouragement when things seem to be bogging down. Have a good day.

  4. How proud of my son I am. I enjoy readying your writing. I am so
    proud of you. Such determination!!!! Praise the Lord and
    I will continually keep praying for you. Mom

Comments are closed.

