My Juicing Journey

RECIPE: Soup 2.0

Several of y’all have asked me to start posting some of my recipes to give y’all ideas as well and I am always on the lookout for something savory. Additionally, It is not gardening season, and I have been wondering what to do with all of my left-over pulp from my juicing.

Well, let kill two birds with one stone.

Introducing….wait for it….Pulp Soup.  No, I am not crazy.  If you are juicing, try it.

Pulp Soup

This may not sound like a great idea at first.  But consider this.  About 10-20% of the pulp left over from centrifigal juicers (breville style) is still mositure.  It doesn’t capture it all, plus there is still some flavor is the masticted bits of veggies. Plus it’s small size makes it give up it’s flavor quickly in the soup pot, no long wait like with traditional soups and broths. So seriously give it a try.

Ingredients

  • 2 full bags of juicer pulp (from making approximately 2, 20 oz juices…make sure that these are just veggies and that you have taken care to store them in the fridge.)
  • 10-12 cups water
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp fresh ground black pepper
  • fresh or dried herbs: chives, thyme, rosemary, oregano, basil, old bay-use any herbs you like (try including ginger, parsley, etc..)
  • Optional: dark leafy greens
  • 1 tsp olive oil

 

Directions

Place olive oil in pot

Heat on medium

Add pulp

Stir and cook for 1-2 minutes

Add water, herbs/spices/seasonings and turn up to high until boil

Once boiling turn heat down to simmer at medium

Cook covered, 20-30 minutes

If you want a little extra bulk, use your greens or perhaps even some cabbage.  Simply chiffonade 1-2 cups worth and put in the pot for about 5 minutes (longer for harder veggies like cabbage).  That way they will wilt down, but won’t completely cook.

Turn off heat

Using ladle strain pulpy broth in batches (removing pulp) into glass bowl or another pot.  (To save time, I place my pulp in coffee strainers after sauteeing them and tie it up so it makes a little flavor sachet.  Why the heck not, it ain’t like I’m using the filters to make coffee!! then cook as directed above)

Let cool then sip and enjoy!

Transfer remaining broth to a glass jar for storage. Save strained pulp for compost.

This entry was published on February 10, 2012 at 3:40 pm. It’s filed under Juicing, Recipe, weight loss and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “RECIPE: Soup 2.0

  1. I used to make veggie patties and carrot bars using my pulp. I used cornstarch (or Ener-G egg replacer) and mixed it in to give it a little bit of sticking power. Then I would cook them on the stove in olive oil. Don loved em.

Comments are closed.

