My Juicing Journey

The Search for Savory: Asparagus Soup Recipe

Okay, first things first: YUM!

Asparagus is a veg that I did not acquire a taste for until later in life, like within the past 5 years.  Now I love it.  It is one of my favorites on the grill when I  head out to fire up a steak or country ribs. Alas, for the next 58 days, those days are gone.  But they will return in moderation during my long-term phase of my journey to wellness.

Asparagus is also very good for you.  See the data at the bottom of this post.  Lots of Macro and Micro nutrients pack into to each slender, tender stalk.  Unfortunately, many of those are lost during cooking.

Enough with the asparagus commercial and on with my story and the recipe.

In my search for a savory juice recipe I thought about it and decided to make a bowl of “soup” for  a change of pace and flavors. I like spicy foods and hearty soups so in my minds eye I created this concoction last night after church. I decided I would try it out and see how it went.

Here’s the recipe:

For the Juicer

  • 1 bunch of asparagus
  • 1 cucumber
  • 1 handful of parsley
  • 1 large tomato
  • 2 stalks of celery

For the Blender

  • 1 ripe avocado
  • 2 plum tomatoes
  • 1/4 onion
  • Ground Red Pepper, use NM Chili Powder if available in your area (to taste)
  • Sea or Himalayan Salt to taste
  • Few ounces of your asparagus Juice

1 cup of water (Optional: Organic low fat, low salt Chicken Broth — juicing purists may cringe) Heated

Juice the vegetables for the juicer as you normally would.  Pour most of the juice into a large soup mug, retain some liquid for the blender.

Pour the juice that you reserved into the blender.  To this, add tomato, onion, and spices. Blend on low to medium until finely chopped or on the verge of being pureed. Then add the peeled and pitted, ripe avocado and blend until texture is smooth. 

Tip: by blending on low to medium it will take longer, but will reduce the amount of froth that forms on the top.

Pour contents o blender into soup mug with the rest of your juice. Heat water (or broth) in the microwave or on stove top until boiling. Pour water into soup mug.

Tip 2:  Since I was going for more of a soup – something I could “eat” rather than chug – I added the hot liquid to my “juice.”  This prevented the veg from cooking and losing their nutrients, but still made it mildly warm – slightly hotter than tepid – and very satisfying.

The asparagus tasted wonderful and the blended avocado gave it a rich creamy texture without using cream or any dairy products to thicken it. The remaining blended veg gave it nice texture and flavor and a certain heartiness.  Plus, I did not have to deal with the onion fumes permeating the house as they have when I have juiced them.

That is the good news.  The bad news is I wish I had done some more research before I had ingested the more than 24 ounces of “juice” this yielded!   You see, asparagus is a diuretic naturally.  Additionally, one shot glass full of pure asparagus juice is a “mild” laxative. Ummm…let’s just say, more than 24 ounces of this soup and the bathroom became my very good, close, and constant friend throughout the rest of the evening. 2 oz. shot glass = mild laxative; 24 ounce of soup….there ain’t NOTHING mild about that!

 So, I am going to tweak my recipe a bit. Increase the celery, maybe add some kale, and cut the asparagus down to at least half so I get the flavor without the effects. 

All of this, from creating a new recipe to the after effects are all part of the journey.  These are the serendipitous moments that make a journey so much fun. Be bold. Try new tastes. Experiment. Just do more research than I did. Most importantly,

Juice On; Join the Journey!  (Oh, and join us on facebook…look for us under myjuicingjourney)

In the meantime, take a look at some of the health benefits of asparagus.

Nutrient Units Value per 100 grams
Proximates
Water
g
92.40
Energy
kcal
23
Energy
kj
96
Protein
g
2.28
Total lipid (fat)
g
0.20
Ash
g
0.57
Carbohydrate, by difference
g
4.54
Fiber, total dietary
g
2.1
Minerals
Calcium, Ca
mg
21
Iron, Fe
mg
0.87
Magnesium, Mg
mg
18
Phosphorus, P
mg
56
Potassium, K
mg
273
Sodium, Na
mg
2
Zinc, Zn
mg
0.46
Copper, Cu
mg
0.176
Manganese, Mn
mg
0.262
Selenium, Se
mcg
2.3
Vitamins
Vitamin C, total ascorbic acid
mg
13.2
Thiamin
mg
0.140
Riboflavin
mg
0.128
Niacin
mg
1.170
Pantothenic acid
mg
0.174
Vitamin B-6
mg
0.131
Folate, total
mcg
128
Folic acid
mcg
0
Folate, food
mcg
128
Folate, DFE
mcg_DFE
128
Vitamin B-12
mcg
0.00
Vitamin A, IU
IU
583
Retinol
mcg
0
Vitamin A, RAE
mcg_RAE
29
Vitamin E
mg_ATE
2.000
Amino Acids
Tryptophan
g
0.022
Threonine
g
0.064
Isoleucine
g
0.084
Leucine
g
0.099
Lysine
g
0.108
Methionine
g
0.022
Cystine
g
0.027
Phenylalanine
g
0.054
Tyrosine
g
0.036
Valine
g
0.088
Arginine
g
0.107
Histidine
g
0.035
Alanine
g
0.107
Aspartic acid
g
0.265
Glutamic acid
g
0.374
Glycine
g
0.074
Proline
g
0.121
Serine
g
0.087
This entry was published on February 2, 2012 at 1:00 pm. It’s filed under Food Tips, Juicing, Recipe, Vegetables, weight loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “The Search for Savory: Asparagus Soup Recipe

  1. It sounds good. I’ll let you tweak the recipe a bit first and then try it!!

  2. I never thought of juicing asparagus! I’ll file this away until springtime, when the asparagus is available again.

    My favourite way with asparagus (not juiced) is simply zapping it in the microwave with some lemon juice and lemon slices, plus some ground black pepper for about 3 minutes. It tastes sensational, and you can even eat the whole lemon slices.

    We grow both asparagus and lemons, though not the black pepper,unfortunately – too cold down here for it, I think!

    Your recipe has me wanting asparagus – now I have to wait until Spring! 😦 That’s a looooong time away for us, as we’re now ending summer here.

Comments are closed.

