My Juicing Journey

Oh Happy Day! My Juicer Just Arrived. (plus a taste test of Green Lemonade)

For those who have been following my blog, you know that for the first three weeks I was “juicing” with my VitaMix.  All in all, that experience was okay, though it did tend to leave some bits of foam and plant material floating on the top; on of the key differences between juicing and blending.  That fibrous plant material honestly made it hard to get some of the juices down. The taste was fine but the appearance and texture were a bit unsettling.  I don’t know if I would have been able to do that for 60 days, so I broke down and bought the Breville. (hard enough to find as everyone, including the factory is sold out of them right now.  I finally found mine at www.macys.com – no shipping charge and at the time they were giving away a copy of the FS&ND video with each purchase. So, I now have a copy to loan to anyone in my area if they want to see the movie and do not have Netflix).

Anyway the purpose of this post is to show you how the Breville works as I put it through the paces for the very first time. Hopefully, seeing an untrained, novice user will answer some of your questions.  If you have others, feel free to comment below and I will do my best to either Reply or answer them in an upcoming blog.

See the recipe for green lemonade below the video.

Enjoy the video and Juice On; Join the Journey.

RECIPE For Green Lemonade

  • 3 stalks of celery
  • 1 Handful of Kale (4-8 leaves depending on taste preference)
  • 1 Handful of spinach (about 2 cups, pressed down)
  • 1 medium Granny Smith apple
  • 1/2 cucumber
  • 1/2 of lemon (peeled)

Place the ingredients through the juicer in the order shown above.

The taste IS pretty tart, one might consider adding 1/2 of a pear to help tone it down, or alternately use only 1/4 of peel lemon.  I really like a tart lemonade and I find that the lemon and green apple really cut down on the “green” taste.  All in all, it is relatively thick (about the consistency of a store bought V8, though much smoother.  This will be one of my go-to drinks for afternoon snacks, especially in the summer.  If you like lemonade, this will hit the spot and give you lots of beneficial macro and micronutrients to boot from all of the greens.

This entry was published on January 31, 2012 at 12:41 pm. It’s filed under Food Tips, Juicing, weight loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “Oh Happy Day! My Juicer Just Arrived. (plus a taste test of Green Lemonade)

  1. Going to have to retire my Champion juicer!!! I really like the design of yours. How is the clean up???

    • Thanks for asking. I anticipated the question, so I did a demo with that as well. Take a look at the latest post. In a word, though, it’s a snap. Even for me.

    • Oh, one other note. When you do go to get a new juicer. Take a hard look at the Omega Vert models. I almsot went that direction. I am not a Breville fan-boy. What it came down to for me was the Breville was about $100 cheaper, it looked more in line iwth the type of juicing I will be doing AND the big reason? It is the model that was used in the movie FS&ND. As a novice, I had seen the results that the Juicing lifestyle had produced for Phil Staples and did not wnat to wander too far off the ranch in the early phases. Why get advice from a tour guide if you are gonna blaze your own path, right? However, as I learn more, I may still ultimately end up with one of the Omega Juicers.

  2. Have you been happy with the juicer? They’re on special at my local store, and I was thinking of buying one.

    • I have been thrilled with it thus far. It does better on firmer fleshed fruit and veg than on leafy greens but all in all I would say get one if you can.

    • If you can get onto a US website, they sell for 299 US here. Not sure how that converts to your currency, but if it is cheaper, maybe you could bargain with them. Though I know our electric plugs are diff than many countries, might need a converter.

Comments are closed.

