My Juicing Journey

Oh Get Real! Debunking a Popular Juicing Excuse

As I have talked with more and more people lately about juicing in general and MY juicing journey in particular, I have heard one excuse after another.

Well, because I fear you have not been drinking enough, here’s a cup of cold water in your face.

How’s your current lifestyle working out for you?  Do you feel lethargic? Are you getting sick more often than your peers? Are you taking more pills and meds than servings of fruits and veg? Is your blood pressure or cholesterol high? Are you overweight, obese, or morbidly obese like me?  If so, then the answer is that your current options ARE NOT working. You can either change what you are doing, or you can die.  The choice is yours.

Second cup of cold water: your excuses are making and keeping you fat/unhealthy! So just quit it.

One of the biggest complaints or excuses I have heard from some is that the juicers are hard to clean.  Honestly, I had heard so much about that, that I was a bit concerned myself. I was wondering, “Oh boy! What have I gotten myself into?”

I am not slob, but cleaning is not one of my favorite activities. My mom, friends, wife…they all like the food I use to cook.  What they didn’t like was the mess I left behind. I am “a messy.” So, the thought of having to wrestle with a juicer 4-6 times a day did not make me happy.

Well, my juicer arrived this week. I decided to put it through the paces and see how hard it was to use and TO CLEAN. All, without bothering to open the manual. I am after all a guy and reading instructions is a sign of weakness! 😉

Here is a new excuse for you:  “I am not going to start juicing because the Mayan Calendar seems to indicate the world may end in 2012.” 

That may seem silly, but it is no sillier than the other excuses I have heard. Don’t believe me?  Watch the video.

Now, if that doesn’t prove to you just how easy it is to clean a Breville Juice Fountain Elite, nothing will.  I am a true novice and did not receive any guidance.  That was the very first time I have ever used or cleaned the juicer. So, if that was your only excuse, you can either use my new excuse that I have provided or to paraphrase the words of Morgan Freeman from the movie Shawshank Redemption, “Get busy juicing or get busy dying.”

On a more sympathetic note, I hope the video did help dispel some of the cleaning myths, if you have nay questions either leave a comment below or join us over on Facebook.

Juice On; Join the Journey.

Author’s note:  the video and this blog post relate only to the Breville Juice Fountain Elite.  As a novice, I have no experience with any other brands or models, they may be more or less difficult to clean. I know of at least on person who has purchased a Jack Lalane juicer and they complained about it until they decided to use it only sparingly but I have no first-hand knowledge.

This entry was published on January 31, 2012 at 1:31 pm. It’s filed under Juicing, weight loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Oh Get Real! Debunking a Popular Juicing Excuse

  1. Hi! I just purchased the Breville Juice Fountain elite this past weekend. My husband and I started juicing Sunday morning. Oh my…how have I not juiced? I’m a healthy nut and I’ve had the preconceived problems of it’s too much work to clean and what about the fiber? Well, cleaning is no big deal. The juice is delicious. The energy and fullness I feel is amazing. So, fiber..I eat whole grains and I’ll get the fiber. Glad I found your blog.
    Good luck to you on your journey. I look forward to reading your blog and learning along with you about more juicing tips! Here’s to health and the juicing journey.

    • Kimtri,

      Like you I had a BIG mental dilemna with the whole lack of fiber thing. But I HAD to get the weight off, it was lose it or my life. Not a tough choice when you boil it down. I note from your blog that you are a triathlete and likely are not facing the same hurdles as I. So whole grains may be a perfect option for you. For me, I sense that the wheat was causing some joint inflamation as well, so I am not even fortifying my diet with those…at the moment.

      However, to help with the fiber most mornings I start the day with a blended fruit drink, rather than a juice. that way I ams till getting the pulp and benfits of the fiber, but from a non-grain source. That might be an option for you, as well.

      Juice on and thanks for joining the journey.

  2. WOW…. like how this is to clean WAY better than my old Champion. Not that the Champion is “hard” to clean but the whole dismantling and oiling is a pain. Also hate how large it is. The Breville looks great! Love how much “neater” it dispenses the juice too!!

Comments are closed.

