My Juicing Journey

Day 10 Update: Waking Up on the Right Side of the Bed and a Psycho Soup Recipe

Status Day 10:

SW: 470          TW: 436.4       TWL: 33.6 lbs      Lbs to Goal: 211.4

So, today is day 10 and the weight loss is slowing but still progressing.  Any movement in a negative direction is good.  I am approximately 10 days away from going to strictly juice for a period of 55-60 days. The really good news, though is not my weight.

Today is the first day since starting that I truly feel well. I am still tired, sleep is still eluding me, which I attribute to all of the change and to detox symptoms.  But I woke up this morning on my right side.

That may not sound like all that big of news.  However, about 8 weeks ago I started having profound pain in my right knee.  It hurt when I walked, when I sat, and when I stood up; basically, all the time. 

It hurt most though when I would try to lay on my right side.  I don’t know if it was the pressure or the angle that my swollen legs and porcine form forced the knee into but all of the soft tissue around my knee, especially behind my knee was inflamed and painful to the touch. This made it impossible to sleep on my preferred side. 

Imagine my surprise this morning when I woke up on the RIGHT side of the bed for a change.  The pain has returned slightly throughout the day today, but it is far less than normal.  THIS IS AWESOME!

I am glad to begin seeing some of the positive side-effects of my journey.  The small goals are proof-postive that juicing is changing my body even before it changes my appearance.  245 #s is a lot to lose and it will take a while to get there, so this quiet victories are great moral boosts along the way.

Oh, one other quickie, my eyes appear to be whiter and bluer than they have been in years.  They look alive, vibrant, and like they are looking for a challenge!

Now, for my recipe.  Two days ago it was getting late, and my wife and i wer still contemplating supper.  My Daughter had received a Subway Gift Card for Christmas so she asked if I would take her…it is one of only three eateries in my community (only 2 of them are open after 7pm). Yep, got to love a small town.

Anyway, on our way back, she opened up her bag of BBQ chips.  I love my daughter, I really do.  But I was Hungry.  No, not just hungry…pain in the pit of my gut, empty echo sort of hungry.  I don’t even like BBQ chips, but as much as I love her, I was about willing to open the car door as we drove, snag her chips, and push her out and laugh as she rolled. 

That sounds awful, and no, DCFS, I would not really do that.  But, if you have ever been on any type of diet then you can possibly relate.  It was my own fault, I had let too much time elapse since my last juice meal. 

When I got home my wife was concocting a delicious soup.  It smelled heavenly.  though this is not on the reboot program, per se.  There is nothing in it that would be offensive to the program that I could detect and for those who are not doing a full juice fast bust just working to health it may be worth it.

I tell you all of that to say this, my wife is on a different path than I.  But she is still taking steps needed to promote her own health. When my son came home from work, he commented on how good the soup smelled.  Then asked what it was.

She explained that it was a low/no calorie soup that she was permitted to eat as much of as she wanted on her diet.  It is something that is flavor and nutrient rich with few if any calories and it helps take the edge off of hunger pangs without “cheating.” 

Her quote was, “It keeps me from getting so hungry I go Psycho.”  Hence the name. I did sample it and if that is cheating on my part then I guess I am guilty.  But otherwise how would I know if I could recommend it to you.  😉

Let’s just say, I can’t wait till the juicing part of my journey is over and I migrate over to her plan cause I could flat eat me some of that soup!

Here’s hoping it keeps your Psycho moments at bay and keep us from pushing our daughters into traffic while we snack on their chips.

Psycho Soup

  • 6 large green onions (also called “spring” onions)
  • 2 green peppers
  • tomatoes (diced or whole)
  • 3 carrots
  • 1 dozen mushrooms sliced
  • 1 bunch of celery
  • half a head of cabbage
  • 4-8 leaves of Kale (chopped)
  • 1 package of Organic Vegetable or Chicken Bouillon
  • Season to taste with pepper, parsley, curry, garlic powder, etc. (If you must use salt, use Sea Salt, Celtic Salt, or Himalayan Salt)

Directions:

Slice green onions, put in a pot on medium heat and start to sauté with cooking spray. Do this until the onions are translucent (about 4-6 minutes).

Cut green pepper stem end off, then cut pepper in half to take out the seeds and membrane. Cut the green pepper into bite size pieces and add to pot.

Take the outer leafs layers off the cabbage, cut into bite size pieces, add to pot.

Clean carrots, mushrooms, and celery, cut into bite size pieces and toss them in. Add tomatoes now, too.

If you would like a spicy soup, add a small amount of curry or cayenne pepper now.

If using, add the bouillon.  Note: it will add calories, but it will also add some extra flavor and help it go further. These bouillon is optional, and you can add spices you like instead at this point (make sure not to add much salt, if any at all).

Use about 12 cups of water (Reduce water by volume of bouillon, if used). Cover and put heat on low. Let soup simmer for a long time – about 2 hours or until vegetables are tender.

Add chopped kale and let cook an additional 5 minutes or so. 

ENJOY!

I hope this will help cut the edge of and keep you healthy while you continue on your journey.

Juice on; Join the Journey.

 

This entry was published on January 19, 2012 at 5:29 pm. It’s filed under Food Psychology, Food Tips, Juicing, Recipe, Vegetables, weight loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.
