My Juicing Journey

Day 8 Update and recipe for Sangre De Cristo Sunrise

Status Day 8:

Starting Weight: 470   

Today’s Weight: 441.8   

Total Loss:  28.2 lbs   

 Lbs to Goal: 216.8

 

WOW!  Okay, today I am a little bit excited.  I finally crossed one of those threshold numbers…over 25#’s lost!  Now for the next one, c’mon 50#. 

BTW…I will take pictures of my scale read out occassionally, just so you will know the numbers are real. But not all the time cause it is time consuming and the thought of standing naked with my camera still weirds me out a bit. (cue the bow-chicka-wow-wow music)

I didn’t expect to get to 25#s as rapidly as I did and I may have some days of temporary gain.  Trust me, I’ve run this weight loss hamster ball enough to know what is ahead.  It is amazing to see how the body responds once you start treating it right, though.  It is a pretty amazing and efficient machine if you just get out-of-the-way.

This is partly personal, but Dublin Dr. Pepper closed their doors on the same day my journey began.  I hope the huge decrease in sales at Dr. Pepper/Snapple had nothing to do with that decision.  If so, I may have to claim responsibility for Hostess, too.  Look out McD’s and BK, you will all be noticing a steep decline in business as well.  Unless of course you want to actually have fresh, organic alternatives.  Hmmm, there’s a thought.  but I digress.

I needed the pick me up these numbers on the wall, projected by my Taylor Scales, gave me.  After this morning’s blog I was a bit “in the dumps.”

This weight loss stuff is tough.  Not just physically, but mentally and emotionally.  I am having to surf back through thoughts and emotions I had quite comfortably stuffed for all these years.  I don’t like unpacking!

I got through it by re-watching the last half Fat Sick and Nearly Dead during my lunch break. Phil Staples is such an inspiration!  I tell you watching him jog in that yellow australia t-shirt at the end.  that, my friends, is a ROCKY moment. Then, to see him tossing a ball with his son. WOW!  That did it.  Between that feeding my mind and my new lunch recipe feeding my bod.  I am feeling better this afternoon.

So, to the recipe.  As a child I grew up spending my summers in the Sangre De Cristo mountains of North Central New Mexico. The sunrise’s there can be spectacular as the desert and mountain vistas combine.  As I grabbed the fruit I had readily available and piled it in my VitaMix the vibrancy of the colors took me back to those days; walking the fire roads of Baldy or inner-tubing down the snow-melt filled waters of the Pecos River. I felt the richness of life washing over me as I knew I would soon literally drink in the colors that make that region so gorgeous.  So here’s the recipe.  Keep in mind I am using a VitaMix, not the Breville Juicer that Joe Cross and Phil Staples did. (still saving my money for that). You may need to adjust the quantities if you are truly juicing.

Sangre De Cristo Sunrise

  • 1 Whole grapefruit
  • 2 Oranges
  • 1 Cup of Red raspberries (intended to use cranberries, but I am out)
  • 12-18 Grapes
  • 1 Cup of Spinach Leaves (I try to sneak in veg wherever I can)
  • 4 oz. Coconut Water
  • Handful of ice

Peel Citrus. (You can section and remove seeds if you wish, but not necessary.) Remove grapes from vines. Wash spinach.  Place all ingredients into VitaMix and blend on High for about 30-45 seconds. 

(Option 1: Increasing the amount of ice and using the tamper will yield a wonderful sorbet-like item if you are in the mood for something cold and semi-solid)

This  yeilds about 40 oz. of juice for me and boy was it good.  A little tart, a little sweet. Kind of like my memories of Northern New Mexico.

Enjoy.

This entry was published on January 17, 2012 at 4:55 pm. It’s filed under Food Psychology, Food Tips, Juicing, Recipe, Vegetables, weight loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.
