My Juicing Journey

And so it begins…..

So, if you have found this page you either have a morbid curiosity about what it is like to be fat or you are interested in juicing. First, let me lay a few ground rules. I am no expert; I am learning about all of this myself. But, I want to keep a record of what I learn for my benefit and for the benefit of those who may come after me. Next ground rule, I am going to be blunt. I will not be intentionally rude; I will not get into ad hominem attacks; and I will not spar anonymously with other unnamed people. My opinions are just that; they are opinions and they are mine. It is doubtful that you will change mine, they have been too hard fought and won through the years.

Some of you may have bristled with me using the word “fat” in my first sentence. Sorry, but let’s call it what it is…especially since I am talking about me. I am not pleasantly plump…in fact I doubt anyone truly is. I am not chubby, portly, or girth-enhanced. I am fat: porcine, rotund, enormous. Got it. We cannot combat a problem until we identify it, name it, and deal honestly with it.

I have. If that offends, sorry. Go find a weight-loss blog from Barney.

I figured my first blog should explain some of how I began my juicing blog. Last summer while simmering on my couch like good potatoes do, I was watching Netflix. Appalled at the sheer volume of trivial nonsense, I perused the documentaries section. One caught my eye. Joe Cross’s Film “Sick, Fat, and Nearly Dead” (from here on out I will refer to it is SFND). Joe got my attention, but Phil inspired me. North of 400 lbs. myself, I could relate to what I saw on my TV screen. I could relate to it, but that was it. I was not at the point, yet, to make the necessary changes. However, it did start me thinking and searching.

Then, during Christmas Break, I was in TX for my nieces wedding. Three key things happened.

1)  I wrote a post to my FB account that, on reflection, appalled me.
2)  I was DJ-ing the reception which required me to climb a rickety ladder. I was scared to death, I almost didn’t make it up, and my son afterwards said “Oh Man! I would have given money to be here to watch that.” I was embarrassed and humiliated that at my age, I could scarcely climb a ladder to a sound booth.
3) Finally someone posted a cartoon to their FB wall of an obese cat that was splitting it’s cat bed. The caption said “New Year’s Resolution….lose weight or Buy a Bigger Bed?

That combination completed the perfect mental storm to break the grip of inertia.

So I am beginning.

How did I get here? How did I arrive at 400+ lbs. What am I going to do about it? Well, that is all for the days ahead. For now, I must head to the store to lay in my supplies for the battle of and for my life, literally. Talk to you tomorrow.

This entry was published on January 10, 2012 at 10:56 pm. It’s filed under Juicing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.
