My Juicing Journey

All the News That Fits

This was the pic that was on the front page of my local newspaper yesterday.

I am surprised, amazed and humbled that this journey we are on is “news”. To those who are joining the journey and who have been supporting me, I say thank you.  When I first started this blog, it’s main purpose was to help me journal and to capture my thoughts to help keep me on track. But I have learned that there are many others who are on a similar journey.  Whether it be for 25 lbs or if they have huge amounts to lose because, like me, they are morbidly obese.  While my primary motivation is to keep me on track, I am also getting a great deal of satisfaction from helping others on their trip. Hopefully, some who stop by here as a result of the article will hang around and join with us.

I know for others, like me when I first watched “Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead” the time may not be right.  They will get here, they will reach a point that everything clicks for them.  When that happens, I hope to still be here.  A little lighter, a little further on my journey but still ready to cheer them on.

Here is the article as it appeared.  Thanks to Denise Williams for writing it and for spending time with me.  I am praying for you and your family as you walk your own path.

Morbidly obese man turns to controversial juicing diet

Posted on Tuesday, March 13, 2012 at 12:04 pm

David Robinson stands on the porch of his home with a copy of the documentary that inspired him to try and change his life. He has lost nearly 100 pounds and would like to lose another 160.

David Robinson knew his life was off the rails and something needed to be done.

He weighed 470 pounds. The 44-year-old Robinson was in constant knee pain. The time he used to spend with his children hiking and running was now instead spent sitting on the sidelines.

He couldn’t do the things he was used to doing and had trouble sleeping at night, even with his CPAP machine.

“I’m too young to be this old,” he told himself one day. “There is too much of life ahead of me and I can’t go through it like this. I was sick and tired of being sick and tired.”

Robinson said he would watch all the weight loss infomercials on TV and get frustrated.

“Their before picture is where I’d hope to end up,” he said.

Even a health scare three years ago which sent him to the hospital for an emergency heart catherization didn’t quite get him motivated.

“I knew what needed to be done,” Robinson said. “I just wasn’t doing it.”

In August 2011, he watched the movie documentary “Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead,” and everything clicked.

He identified with Phil Staples, one of the people featured in the film. Like Staples, Robinson picked a path toward weight loss that most might find drastic — juicing.

When he started on his path toward achieving a healthy weight on Jan. 10, he did his research and started out on the journey. Instead of eating regular meals, Robinson is drinking his fruits and vegetables in juice he prepares at home from his juicer, or packaged, commercially prepared juices.

He has given himself until October or November of 2013 to reach his goal weight of 220 pounds.

He set a goal of reaching 399 pounds by Valentine’s Day. He reached that milestone one day early. By the end of February, he had trimmed down to 388 pounds. He set a goal of losing 100 pounds in his 75-day juicing journey — which ends on March 24.

To date, he has lost 92 pounds.

“I can taste it,” Robinson said of his 100 pound goal.

Realizing that attempting to lose more than half of his weight would not be done in one fell swoop, he established a number of mini-goals to help him stay motivated on the journey.

He’s looking forward to losing enough weight so he can take part in the 8K Midnight Run in Pigeon Forge with his son later this year.

“I plan to turbo waddle,” he joked.

Robinson said he ultimately hopes to complete another marathon. He completed one while weighing 295 pounds and another when he was just over 300 pounds.

He also looks forward to fun activities with his wife and his two children, including being able to fit in roller coasters at Dollywood and hiking from the parking lot at Clingman’s Dome to the top of the overlook.

“I want to be able to wear cowboy boots again,” he said.

In the meantime, Robinson realizes that he still has a long road ahead of him.

“I’ve lost nearly 100 pounds and I’m still the biggest person in the room,” he said.

Part of the process of getting where he wants to go is understanding what got him to this point.

“I didn’t just wake up one day and weigh 470 pounds,” he said. “I got here. There’s a reason why I got here.”

Dealing with the psychology behind those reasons has been harder than only drinking juices five to six times a day. Robinson said he realizes that poor food choices were much of the equation.

“There’s a whole lot of food I thought tasted like gravy,” he said. “Every time I shoved a French fry in my mouth, that was my choice.”

Unlike many other morbidly obese people, Robinson is lucky. His overweight years have, so far, not caused any long-term health issues.

“I’m fortunate not to have the conditions normally associated with obesity,” he said.

Following his heart cath, Dr. Sunil Ramaprasad told him he was lucky. The arteries and veins of his heart were in the condition of someone half his age and half his size.

While his family and friends support his decision to lose weight, some, including his doctor, question his chosen path.

Robinson said while he started the diet without consulting a doctor, he is now followed by a physician who monitors his health condition.

“He’s not 100 percent on board with what I’m doing,” Robinson said. “He feels it’s a drastic program. But he knew I was in a drastic situation.”

Editor’s Note: Juicing is a drastic change in diet and can result in serious health issues. It should not be considered without consulting a physician.

While he believes in the health benefits of juicing, Robinson admits it’s not for everyone.

“People need to do what makes sense for their lives,” he said. “Everybody can find a place that will make sense and make a dramatic improvement in their health.”

Robinson said he has been overweight for most of his life and may possibly be fighting genetics. With the exception of one sister, most of his family members are heavier than they should be.

“I’m the only one that’s morbidly obese,” he said.

He said that many overweight people shy away from the term “obese.”

“It’s a diagnosis, not a sentence,” he said, adding that often extremely overweight people feel they’re “trapped in a situation where we feel there’s no other option. If you’re still drawing breath, you can change your life and you can change your destiny.”

Robinson has already changed his.

Within 10 days of starting his diet, he was able to walk without pain in his knee. Earlier this month, he hiked for 1.5 miles. The swelling he had in his lower legs is mostly gone. The skin-on-skin rash he had from contact between his abdomen and upper thighs is about 90 percent cleared.

“I clipped my toenails the night before last,” he joked. “There’s a lot of things people who aren’t my size take for granted. I can tie my own shoes again.”

Best of all, his health has improved. His cholesterol level has dropped from 180 to 112. His blood pressure, which was high at 156/110 is down to 138/56 and is being treated with diet. He was prediabetic and his blood sugar has dropped to normal levels.

“All of these changes were made in less than 30 days,” Robinson said.

He believes that other people in his condition can make the same changes for their lives.

“There is hope,” he said. “If a fat slob like me can do it, anyone can.”

Robinson started a blog as a journal of his journey and as a way to help his family stay abreast of his progress. He’s now using it as a way to share his experiences with others.

“I want people to know there is hope,” he said. “If you set your pace, you can do this.”

Robinson said losing weight and getting healthy is long-term process.

“It’s not about doing one thing for a week,” he said. “It’s about doing little steps every day.”

For more information about Robinson’s journey, visit his blog at www.myjuicingjourney.com.

-By Denise Williams, Tribune Staff Writer

To those who are jsut finding us here, click on the “follow” button so you can stay updated with my journey and get the latest info, rescipes and thoughts about the process as wella s the psychology of weight loss.  I am no expert, just a fellow traveler on the road to wellness.  I also encourage you to join our growing family on facebook at www.facebook.com/myjuicingjourney

Juice On; Join the Journey!

This entry was published on March 14, 2012 at 12:22 pm and is filed under Juicing, Vegetables, weight loss. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

10 thoughts on “All the News That Fits

  1. Annabelle on said:

    Reblogged this on Fluency's Folly and commented:
    So many quotabled statements in here! Read it and I dare you to not be inspired to be healthier and to not take your fitness for granted.

    Can’t wait for my own juicing journey the last 10 days of April!

    • Love your website and blog! I agree that Joe’s movie is lobsautely terrific .I have seen it twice now and hope we can get a screening arranged in Richmond, Virginia soon. I did my first juice fast in 2008, and had great results. I am getting ready to start another one next week .. Will be writing about it on my blog ( The Classic Preppy ) and will link to your blog and Joe’s website, too .so my readers can learn more!Cheers,Liz

  2. Great article! Keep it up! You are doing amazing!

  3. Pingback: Fitness Friday (and how Ab’s saved A.B.) | AT: Your Life

  4. Man David, it’s good to see your success & is very inspirational to me. I’m from the same area you are from, just about 10 minutes up the road. I’d say it’s hard to find all your ingredients there at Holt’s IGA isn’t it? I usually buy my veggies at Sunrise Asian Market in Knoxville. The produce seems to be fresher, larger variety, & a little cheaper. Here’s the reason I wanted to send you a message though…I am nearing 41 yrs of age now. I was always in great shape. I played football, worked out everyday, boxed, & did some track & field events. Never in a million years did I think I would be 300 lbs & have the health problems I have now just as I’m sure you didn’t. In the past I have been very successful with a very very low carb diet, but I was much more active at that time also. As I’m aging & becoming less active, this diet no longer works for me. I’ve been searching for that right “cure” for my obesity & realize it’s gonna take a life change. I trully believe at the present that I wouldn’t be living without my medication. Thank God for beta blockers is all I can say. You know something isn’t right when you are sitting around with a heart rate of 150+. Dr. Roma did my 1st cath when I was in my early 30’s & Dr. Bishop at St. Mary’s, formerly from Baptist, did my 2nd one about 4 or five yrs ago. I wont get into the specifics of that, but needless to say I do have a long stretch of narrowed artery that can’t be fixed via stent, leaving the next option of open heart. Not to keen on that idea David. The plan was to try & treat this with meds & exercise, neither of which I have been compliant with. I do have a juicer. A Champion brand & it works very well but is a little timely in clean up. Also, cleaning & preparing the fruits & veggies is timely. I’ve said all this to say, something about the article featuring you in the newspaper inspired me. I’m not sure what the trigger was, it just did. I was already contemplating on beginning a juicing regimen, but I was unsure where to begin. Is this all you ingest throughout the day? Do you drink this in place of 1 meal, 2 meals, or all meals? Either way is not really a problem for me. See my problem is that I don’t want to eat except maybe once/day. Yes I realize what happens to the food I eat when I do this, but I just feel so sluggish after I eat. I don’t feel this way after I juice. I have really good feelings about starting this new way of life. If you could share any tips on what you find to be the best juicer, any recipes, and a plan involving times & amounts to juice, that would be great. Really anything you can share would be great. My mom is also wanting to do this. I’m excited about starting. Thanks for sharing what you already have & I wish you the best of luck in your journey. God bless you!

    • Ed,

      Welcome to the journey. I am now in the tail end of the process. I am beginning to reintroduce regualr food to my regimen. However, I am still juicing.

      Like you, as I ahve started “eating” again, I am finding that I jsut don’t liek the way I feel after a standard meal. Juicing will always be a part of my life at this point.

      You are right, Holt’s selection is slim, I use them when I can because I like to support local business but when I can’t get what I need there, I usually use the Food City on Jaybird in Mo-town. they have a fairly deep selction, plus they ahve the Naked Juice for my emergencies. I ahve noticed that the farmers are starting to turn their field in this area so I will soon start getting all of my produce from local farms, diret or “u-pick” and supplementing with my own garden.

      As far as the “brass tacks” of what I did and am doing. First, I advise anyone to go to http://www.jointhereboot.com . They have lots of recipes and more in depth advice than what I am qualified to give.

      Beyond that, after the “Entry Period” which was a combo of juicing and eating, I exclusively juiced. I would make a juice six times a day. That was all I consumed. Now I am eating one meal a day and juicing the rest. When I am doing my own thing, I will likely replace one or two of those juices with a piece of fresh fruit or a salad and a hand full (about a 1/4 cup) of pistachios, almonds, etc. In addition, once a quarter I will go back and juice exclusively for 10 days to “Reboot” my system and keep me at peak efficiency.

      As regards cleaning, it can be a bit of a pain. I do not know if you have seen the video on the blog or not, but I timed myself on cleaning my juicer the very first time I used it, as a novice. It took me all of about 5 minutes (4 minutes and some change to be precise). I don’t know about you, but that was less time than i used to spend clenaing up the dishes after cooking.

      I hope this helps and if you have any further questions, feel free to ask me. Since we are close, if you want to meet at some point I am open to that as well if we can arrange our schedules. My goal is to try to help people who are exploring this, not as an expert but at least as a person who has “been there drank that.”

      Best of luck to you, you can do this. Thanks for your note and encouragement.

      • I’m going to try this again. I have written long messages & as I’m trying to send them I get an error that takes me back to where I started. I live in an area that has no internet connection other than dial up. I have the Verizon 4G but only get 3G when I’m lucky. I live in the Cherokee Park area. I really appreciate you getting back with me.
        You are exactly right about the clean up on these juicers. I was complaining one day until it hit me, “what if I had cooked a meal.” All that grease! I too try to support my local farmers, but I have a pretty big garden also. This year I am going to try & focus on the things I have been putting in the juicer. This is probably not the cheapest diet to go on either, but it’s come to the point that it’s much cheaper than the doctor bills.
        Like I said before, I’ve studied different diets, tried different diets, tried different things to motivate myself into doing something, but there was just something about your story that has driven me to do this & I have really good feelings about it. For that I am grateful that you shared your story. I’m tired of feeling the effects of this extra person on me. FAT! No one can have the burdon for a fat person like another fat person. It is like you called it & I appreciate you straightening out the “politically correctness” of FAT. It is what it is & we’ve done it to ourselves. That gives us the right to call it what we want. They call us fat behind our backs but don’t want us to call ourselves fat? LOL
        I am going to definetly check out the website you shared when my connection will allow. As of right now, my juice consists of lots of spinich, beets, cucumbers, carrots, apples, ginger, sometimes a few strawberries or lemon & lime. I would like to try something different though. I’m planning on tomorrow being my first day of “the juice, the whole juice, & nothing but the juice”. Ahh, a little juice humor. Do wish me luck though. The biggest thing for me is just squeezing in all the meals in a day….No pun intended.
        I’m not the most computer savvy person, & I don’t think there is an e-mail address for you on here. I know that I’ve had to list one & hoping you receive mine on your end. I hate to post anything like that on here so if you have my e-mail address, if you wouldn’t mind, send me something via e-mail so I can e-mail you my phone number so maybe we can get together sometime. The park has a really good place to walk so that may be an idea or just whenever & whereever. Once again, I appreciate it. Good luck & keep on juicin’.

      • I have this model, just got it in fact. When we juice these types of things, the ivoratibn unfasens the part that you hook the augar parts too, and it falls off. I am noticing that yours does not do this. I watched your demo on how to put it together and we are def. putting it together right. But, the ivoratibn still makes the top part fall off. Any advie?

      • my appologies. I would like to answer your question but only half of it translated to english. if you can help me with a good translation, i will try to reply.

  5. Pingback: Why Are We Getting Fat? | Weight Loss For Us

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 245 other followers

